Home of the Live Music Calendar Follow STLBlues on Twitter Follow STLBlues on Facebook Home of the Live Music Calendar Live Music Is Better, Book It Here!! Live music is better, book yours now!

'Cornbread'By Cornbread

Walter Trout – Unspoiled By ProgressWalter Trout – Unspoiled By Progress
Provogue Records, 2009

Unspoiled By Progress is a celebration of Walter Trout’s twenty years as a solo blues guitarman/singer/songwriter (born: March 6, 1951 in Ocean City, NJ). Trout ventured off on his own in 1989, leaving John Mayall’s band. While this is not a best of the album includes raw blues that cover his career as well as three new songs; “They Call Us the Working Class”, Two Sides to Every Song” and “So Afraid of the Darkness”. Some of the other tracks are unreleased live and studio recordings. “Life in the Jungle” and “Long Tall Sally” were recorded at the Paradiso in Amsterdam 1991. Also from ’91 from his BBC sessions are “Goin Down” and “She’s Out There Somewhere”. “Jimmy as Yoko”, “Somebody’s Acting Like a Child” and “Hey Barney” were recorded at Perg’s nightclub in his hometown of Huntington Beach, California.

1. They Call Us the Working Class
2. Goin' Down
3. Life in the Jungle
4. Long Tall Sally
5. Jimmy as Yoko
6. Somebody's Acting Like a Child
7. Hey Barney
8. Sweet as a Flower
9. Two Sides to Every Story
10. Finally Gotten Over You
11. Goin' Back Home
12. Marie's Mood
13. She's out There Somewhere
14. So Afraid of the Darkness

Great CD, lots of guitar. Good songs. This is an outstanding addition to my collection. Now, had this been a greatest hits I would’ve been bummed that my favorite Trout song and ballad “Cry If You Want To” was missed. All-in-all, folks get this CD, turn it up and sit back and enjoy!

Peace and Love
Peter 'Cornbread' Cohen, CBP
~ Cornbread@STLBlues.net

The STLBluesometer
Enjoy our Blues reviews
STLBlues CD Reviews :: By band/artist first name
St. Louis based bands & musicians
More National Bands
 Live Music Calendar | Send Blues News | © STLBlues 2000 | Privacy Policy