Home of the Live Music Calendar Follow STLBlues on Twitter Follow STLBlues on Facebook Home of the Live Music Calendar Live Music Is Better, Book It Here!! Live music is better, book yours now!

'Cornbread'By Cornbread

The Rolling Stones – A Bigger BangThe Rolling Stones – A Bigger Bang
{9/6/05 | Virgin Records}

The Stones latest studio album, A Bigger Bang boasts sixteen new tracks combining high-powered rock and some blues. It’s been nine years since the Stones released their last studio CD (Bridges To Babylon).

The Stones (in case you’ve been sleeping are overly drug induced lack of memory for the last forty some odd years) are Mick Jagger (vocals), Keith Richards (guitar), Charlie Watts (drums) and Ron Wood (guitar & slide guitar). For added flavor, Darryl Jones is back on bass and Chuck Leavell on keys.

All songs written by Jagger and Richards:

1. Rough Justice – a hard rockin’ medly as if they are saying we’re back.

2. Let Me Down Slow
– a catchy tune; you can understand the words and likely be hummin’ the melody long after the song ends.

3. It Won’t Take Long

4. Rain Fall Down – lots of bass, thanks Darryl.

5. Streets Of Love – this is new old Stones. A delight to my ears.

6. Back Of My Hand – done up Delta blues-like.

7. She Saw Me Coming – not a lot of depth, just a rock song and that’s OK!

8. Biggest Mistake – a fairly mellow tune, Mick sounds great.

9. This Place Is Empty – Keith Richards singing lead, playing guitar, piano and bass. This song is kinda’ folky in a Dylon’esque way.

10. Oh No, Not You Again – “it’s only Rock and Roll and I like it”

11. Dangerous Beauty – this is a time warp back to the 60’s and 70’s, your dad will like this one.

12. Laugh, I Nearly Died – steady beat, kinda dark sounding, has mellow guitar snippets.

13. Sweet Neo Con

14. Look What The Cat Dragged In – good feel and bounce to this electric shuffle.

15. Driving Too Fast – this song allows for plenty of guitar.

16. Infamy – Richards singing lead on this one too as well as playing guitar, keyboard, bass and percussion. Both Richards songs are rich in a bluesy feel and much more tame than the other tracks.

Keith Richards joined Hubert Sumlin earlier this year on the release If These Shoes. With the release of Bigger Bang the Stones kicked off yet another tour, this time at Fenway Park in Boston 8/21/2005. Like Paul McCartney and Eric Clapton, the Stones are still playing hard into their sixties – all are releasing new CD’s in Aug/Sept ‘05.

While not a traditional blues CD, pay attention to tracks 6, 12, 14 and 16. If you like the traditional Stones stuff, you’ll really dig this – it’s classic Rolling Stones. I enjoyed this CD a lot. It’s a new CD with classic Rolling Stones old school way of doing things. I think the diehard fans will agree and like this.

Ciao' for now, peace.
Peter 'Cornbread' Cohen, CBP
~ Cornbread@STLBlues.net ~

The STLBluesometer
Enjoy our Blues reviews
STLBlues CD Reviews :: By band/artist first name
St. Louis based bands & musicians
More National Bands
 Live Music Calendar | Send Blues News | © STLBlues 2000 | Privacy Policy