Home of the Live Music Calendar Follow STLBlues on Twitter Follow STLBlues on Facebook Home of the Live Music Calendar Live Music Is Better, Book It Here!! Live music is better, book yours now!

'Cornbread'By Cornbread

The Groundhogs: Live At The Astoria

Live from Texas (CD)
{Eagle Records – November 4, 2008}

On Nov 4th 2008 we’ll see an end to the presidential race that, like the Energizer bunny keeps going and going, and a mere seven weeks to Christmas. ZZ Top, the "little ol' band from Texas" will release a live CD with 15-song tracks in follow up to their hugely successful DVD released earlier this year. ZZ Top has enjoyed enormous success on a global scale since their breakthrough in the early seventies and then their groundbreaking albums in the mid-eighties. The track listing spans their career from early tracks such as "Waitin' For The Bus", "Just Got Paid" and the classic "La Grange", through their eighties blockbusters including "Gimme All Your Lovin'" and "Legs". Unfortunately, recent hit "Pin Cushion" was left of the CD. Same songs, this time live.

Track Listing:
1) Got Me Under Pressure
2) Waitin' For The Bus
3) Jesus Just Left Chicago
4) I'm Bad, I'm Nationwide
5) Cheap Sunglasses
6) Pearl Necklace
7) Just Got Paid
8) Rough Boy
9) Blues Intro
10) Blue Jean Blues
11) Gimme All Your Lovin'
12) Sharp Dressed Man
13) Legs
14) Tube Snake Boogie
15) La Grange
16) Tush

From the gritty guitar that ranges from funky to all out blisterin’ rock this Texas trio gives all viewers a darn good time. Live From Texas is filled with the kind of Southern Fried sizzle ZZ Top is world-famous for. Live From Texas features 15 barnburners of blues, barrelhouse boogie and deliciously fuzz-toned hard rock. These three, singer, guitarist and frontman Billy F. Gibbons, bassist Dusty Hill and drummer Frank Beard make up one of the most recognizable bands in rock history, they’ve been together since 1969 and are inductees in the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame (2004). For the bluesier side dig their 1994 release One Foot In The Blues.

For more ZZ Top visit them online at zztop.com.

Peace and Love
Peter 'Cornbread' Cohen, CBP
~ Cornbread@STLBlues.net
The STLBluesometer
Enjoy our Blues reviews
STLBlues CD Reviews :: By band/artist first name
St. Louis based bands & musicians
More National Bands
 Live Music Calendar | Send Blues News | © STLBlues 2000 | Privacy Policy