Home of the Live Music Calendar Follow STLBlues on Twitter Follow STLBlues on Facebook Home of the Live Music Calendar Live Music Is Better, Book It Here!! Live music is better, book yours now!

'Cornbread'By Cornbread

David Dee "Mixed Emotions"David Dee "Mixed Emotions"

Recorded in 2000 features Dee on vocals & guitar with buddy Oliver Sain on ten of the eleven tracks. Dee's fifth CD, known as a guitarist shows his full development vocally. This CD moves into a jazzy R&B base from Dees blues roots - there are some good blues tracks. I liked "Unselfish Love", "Qualified" "Leave Me Alone" & " Just To Be Happy".

Track Listing:
1. "The Way You Look Tonight" - a mellow song
2. "The Blues" - a soulful R&B song with a bluesy sound, good guitar
3. "It's No Secret" - no funk all soul
4. "Crying All Night"
5. "You Took The "V" Out of Love" - highlights Oliver Sain on Sax, vocals are go deeper
6. "Unselfish Love"
7. "Qualified" - this is more like the David Dee bluesman as on earlier albums
8. "Leave Me Alone" - another really good blues song (personally give me more songs like this and #7 and I'd be happy).
9. "Bad Luck Falling" - I liked the guitar solo
10. "Just To Be Happy" - another really good blues song
11. "Mega Bills and Mini Bucks" - this has a bit of a country sound to it

Also see David Dee "Going Fishing"

Ciao' for now, peace.


The STLBluesometer
Mixed Emotions - David Dee     
Enjoy our Blues reviews
STLBlues CD Reviews :: By band/artist first name
St. Louis based bands & musicians
More National Bands
 Live Music Calendar | Send Blues News | © STLBlues 2000 | Privacy Policy