Home of the Live Music Calendar Follow STLBlues on Twitter Follow STLBlues on Facebook Home of the Live Music Calendar Live Music Is Better, Book It Here!! Live music is better, book yours now!

Peter 'Cornbread' CohenBy Cornbread



2DVD/CD Set Released February 23, 2010, Eagle Rock

This 2DVD/CD set extracts highlights from 5 concerts, ranging from 1990 to 2001. Prominently displaying his unmatched guitar style, mastery in both rock and blues, and his straight-from-the-soul stage prowess, Definitive Montreux features classic hits such as “Parisienne Walkways,” “Still Got The Blues,” “Out In The Fields,” and “The Stumble.”

Arguably one of the best rock and blues guitarists to come out of Ireland, Gary Moore, mentored by Peter Green, studied the likes of John Mayall, Jimi Hendrix, and Elvis to develop his versatile sound. He did time with Colosseum II, Skid Row, and the legendary Thin Lizzy before establishing his successful solo career in the 80s with his wailin’ brand of rockin’ blues. He eventually developed a solid relationship with the celebrated jazz festival. As evidenced by Definitive Montreux, Gary Moore and Montreux are truly a perfect pair, and the Swiss festival is the perfect stage to showcase Moore’s unparalleled talent.

Track Listing:
Disc #1:
1.) Midnight Blues
2.) Texas Strut
3.) Moving On
4.) Cold Cold Feeling
5.) Stop Messing Around
6.) The Blues Is Alright
7.) The Messiah Will Come Again

1.) If You Be My Baby
2.) Long Grey Mare
3.) Merry-Go-Round
4.) The Stumble
5.) You Don’t Love Me
6.) Key To Love
7.) All Your Love
8.) Still Got The Blues
9.) Since I Met You Baby
10.) The Sky Is Crying
11.) Jumping At Shadows

Disc #2
1.) One Fine Day
2.) Cold Wind Blows
3.) I’ve Found My Love In You
4.) Always There For You
5.) Business As Usual
6.) Out In The Fields

1.) Pretty Woman
2.) Need Your Love So Bad
3.) Tore Down
4.) I Loved Another Woman
5.) Too Tired
6.) Further On Up The Road
7.) Parisienne Walkways

1.) You Upset Me Baby
2.) Cold Black Night
3.) Stormy Monday
4.) Walking By Myself
5.) How Many Lies
6.) Fire
7.) Enough Of The Blues
8.) The Prophet

CD Track Listing:
1.) Midnight Blues
2.) Moving On
3.) All Your Love
4.) Still Got The Blues
5.) Out In The Fields
6.) Over The Hills And Far Away
7.) Oh Pretty Woman
8.) Too Tired
9.) Parisienne Walkways
10.) Stormy Monday
11.) Walking By Myself

We get over 4-hours of brilliant guitar playing that is more than pleasing... Nice! The sound quality is good, it’s live expect a little noise. It wasn’t long ago we reviewed Essential Monttreux 5-disc CD. This package is a great accompaniment and a must have if you like guitar, blues, rock and did I say guitar. Gary has been nominated for Blues Music Award, best DVD for 2010. This is a good collection. A lot of intense Texas-like blues. I really liked Midnight Blues, probably the slowest in the group. Albert Collins joined in on a couple. All-in-all terrific.

Peace and Love
Peter 'Cornbread' Cohen, CBP
~ Cornbread@STLBlues.net

The STLBluesometer
Enjoy our Blues reviews
STLBlues CD Reviews :: By band/artist first name
St. Louis based bands & musicians
More National Bands
 Live Music Calendar | Send Blues News | © STLBlues 2000 | Privacy Policy