Home of the Live Music Calendar Follow STLBlues on Twitter Follow STLBlues on Facebook Home of the Live Music Calendar Live Music Is Better, Book It Here!! Live music is better, book yours now!

'Cornbread'Willie 'Big Eyes' Smith and the Juke Joint Rockers - Bluesin' ItWillie 'Big Eyes' Smith and the Juke Joint Rockers - Bluesin' It
{2004 | Electro-Fi Records}

The seven time W.C. Handy Award winning drummer, Willie "Big Eyes" Smith probably best known as the driving beat behind the Muddy Waters Band from 1959 through the late 70’s newest release Bluesin’ It brings together an all-star wealth of blues talent collectively known as the Juke Joint Rockers. Bob Stoger is on Bass (Stoger is Willie’s old running partner from Chicago). Jack De Keyzer works his magic on guitar. Fathead’s Al Lerman blows some killer blues harp. Downchild Blues Band’s Michael Fonfara plays keyboards as Kenny “Blues Boss” Wayne lays down boogie woogie piano that you will long remember.

Willie 'Big Eyes' Smith - Lead vocals tracks 4, 5, 7 & 13
Bob Stroger - Lead vocals tracks 2, 9 & Fender bass
John Mays - Lead vocals tracks 1, 6, 8 & 12
Jack de Keyzer - Lead vocals tracks 3, 10 & Lead guitar
Kenny 'Blues Boss' Wayne - Lead vocals track 11 & Piano tracks 2, 7, 10 & 11
Al Lerman - Harp all tracks except 4, 13, saxophone track 4
Michael Fonfara - Piano or organ tracks 1, 3, 4, 5, 6, 8, 9, 12 & 14
Frank Krakowski - Rhythm guitar tracks 1, 3, 4, 5, 6, 8, 9, 12 & 14

Song List:
1. You’re Too Bad – blues shuffle, tasty harmonica and swingin’ vocals.
2. Blindman – dynamite guitar, hearty bass and soulful gritty vocals.
3. Who Let The Cat Out – a quick head bobbin tune with rockabilly like harmonies that lead into a Hammond solo followed up with a fresh serving of harmonica.
4. River’s Invitation – personally, I really got into the vocals!
5. Nobody Knows – down and dirty Chicago style blues reaping of mojo. We get it all: piano, guitar, deep vocals and killer harp.
6. Hard Times – mellow blues and kick ass vocals. Mays holds nothin’ back.
7. Going Away Baby – harmonica, hand clapping and vocals straight from the Delta on this traditional blues song.
8. No. 9 Train – man can this guy sing the blues!
9. I Gotta Move – slow blues with a soul of its own and piano boogie-woogie.
10. You Need Love – I was listenin’ to this song, got lost in thought, came back around as I was tappin’ my foot – isn’t that what music should do to you?
11. Hold It Right There – jazzy tune with the gents backing the Blues Boss served up St. Louis style y’all.
12. Tigerman – electric, no hold barred blues with funky, soulful vocals to the tune Elvis sang back in 68’.
13. Don’t Think I’m Crazy – a phenomenal version of Willie Dixon’s song. I liked it!!!
14. Liquidfied Boogie – kinda a jam session instrumental and a darn good way to end the CD.

Total blues: 63:21. Now this is good blues value for the buck, 14 tracks, a superstar lineup and plenty of the blues! This CD is an absolute must have, a gem of a blues CD! The Juke Joint Rockers are masters of their domain. Rating: 4.9999999. For more info visit Electro-Fi.

Ciao’ for now, peace.

The STLBluesometer
Father Time - Ross & Hunt       
Enjoy our Blues reviews
STLBlues CD Reviews :: By band/artist first name
St. Louis based bands & musicians
More National Bands
 Live Music Calendar | Send Blues News | © STLBlues 2000 | Privacy Policy