Home of the Live Music Calendar Follow STLBlues on Twitter Follow STLBlues on Facebook Home of the Live Music Calendar Live Music Is Better, Book It Here!! Live music is better, book yours now!

'Cornbread'JD & The Straight Shot - Nothing To HideJD & The Straight Shot - Nothing To Hide

Dolan travels from the Garden to Blues Bar with his debut release of Nothing To Hide which combines slow-burning blues (4, 9 and 10) together with ballads (tracks 1, 2, 8) and rock songs (3, 5, 7). By night, he is the lead singer and rhythm guitarist for JD & The Straight Shot. By day, Dolan is the chairman of Madison Square Garden and the president and CEO of Cablevision Systems Corporation.

JD & The Straight Shot: James Dolan (vocals, guitar, percussion, background vocals); Bruce Koplow (vocals, guitars); Jonny Rosch (vocals, harmonica, accordion, melodica, keyboards); Roscoe Harring (bass guitar); Wally Usiatynski (drums, congas, percussion).

Featuring 10 original tracks:

1. Ghost
2. Slow Motion In Reverse
3. Back Again
4. There’s Something Wrong
5. Check It Out
6. Transatlantic
7. So Cold
8. Wish I Had A Life
9. Didn’t Wanna Do It
10. Kill That Dog

Deep growling vocals on most tracks. Check It Out kind of reminded me of Tom Petty & The Heartbreakers. Transatlantic is an acoustic song, could easily be a Jimmy Buffet song. There’s Something Wrong was the bluesiest song and my favorite, followed by Didn’t Wanna Do It. This is a decent recording, it receives a 3.95 on the STLBluesometer. I would’ve liked more blues morsels.

Ciao’ for now, peace.
The STLBluesometer
Father Time - Ross & Hunt       
Enjoy our Blues reviews
STLBlues CD Reviews :: By band/artist first name
St. Louis based bands & musicians
More National Bands
 Live Music Calendar | Send Blues News | © STLBlues 2000 | Privacy Policy