Home of the Live Music Calendar Follow STLBlues on Twitter Follow STLBlues on Facebook Home of the Live Music Calendar Live Music Is Better, Book It Here!! Live music is better, book yours now!
The finals of the IBC

IBCSTLBlues spent the weekend at one of the premiere music events of the year, the IBC! As the Blues Foundation says, "it's the world's largest gathering of Blues Bands". Just to earn the chance to play here meant that each band possessed loads of talent, drive and determination. The level of music you'll find at this event is unbeatable, as every band - and there was over 150 - was giving their best! The excitement of playing on Beale seemed to be felt by everyone who participated.

The finals of the IBC took place today (2/3/07) at the Orpheum Theater in downtown Memphis. Mighty Lester of the Triangle Blues Society placed third, the kids from Tupelo, sponsored by the Mississippi Delta Blues Society of Indianola, the Homemade Jamz' Blues Band--14, 12 and 9!!!--amazed the crowd and took second place. First Prize went to the Sean Carney Band, from the Columbus Blues Alliance. Sean also took the Albert King Award for best guitarist and was also the Best Dressed

The Solo/Duo Finals were held on Saturday night at the New Daisy Theater, and first place went to Nathan James and Ben Hernandez, sponsored by the Blues Lovers United of San Diego. Second place was awarded to Sonny Moorman of the Cincy Blues Society.



1. WSNB (Cape Fear Blues Society)
2. The Juke Joint Sinners (Iowa Blues Societies)
3. Sean Carney Band (Columbus Blues Alliance)
4. Homemade Jamz' Blues Band (Mississippi Delta Blues Society of Indianola)
5. Levee Town (Kansas City Blues Society)
6. David Shelley Band (South Florida Blues Society)
7. Mighty Lester (Triangle Blues Society)
8. Teddy Lee Hooker (Southern California Blues Society)
9. Malted Milk (Blues Sur Seine)
10. Clarence "The Blues Man" Turner (DC Blues Society)


1. PP & Hooch (Red White and Blues Foundation)
2. Roland Thackounte & Mick Ravassat (Blues Sur Seine)
3. Ben Prestage (Blues Alliance of the Treasure Coast)
4. Israel Stetar (Blues Society of Western PA)
5. Sonny Moorman (Cincy Blues Society)
6. Stefania Calandra (Mojo Station)
7. Nathan James and Ben Hernandez (Blues Lovers United of San Diego)

Congratulations to all the IBC competitiors, and to the winners of the 2007 IBC!

 Live Music Calendar | Send Blues News | © STLBlues 2000 | Privacy Policy